Brown Be Gone

In order to brighten up my very brown family room, I started by removing all the movable brownish things from the room:

  • I tossed out all the brown pillows (well, I just put them into a closet).
  • I removed the red-orange-yellow-brownish flowers on my round black marble-top end console.
  • I took all the brown books off the glass coffee table.
  • I removed all brown-colored frames from my white fireplace mantle.

But, even after I removed all this brown stuff, the room still looked really dark!  In order to soften up this masculine furniture I went straight to Target and bought 2  white twill throw pillows and put those on the large sofa.

Then, to add some fresh color I bought this white pillow with these abstract light greenish-yellow applique flowers, lined in black/brown, and I threw a very light and delicate white throw on the back of the other sofa.

On top the black marble-top end console table, I put these silk white/yellow orchids in a mustard yellow vase (they look real!).

On my white fireplace mantle, I put an exquisite glass candelabra in the center.  But, the mantle still looks really bare, especially since the ceiling is 2-stories high.  So, I am thinking of getting or painting a large canvas with maybe some abstract large creamy yellow orchids (with tinges of pink) hanging on dark brown branches on a cerulean colored background.  Very almond-branches-in-bloom by Van Gogh.

Pictures to come soon …

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Room

Leave a comment